

November 4, 2024

Via Email: Shalanda.D.Young@omb.eop.gov

The Honorable Shalanda Young Director United States Office of Management and Budget 725 17<sup>th</sup> Street, NW Washington, DC 20503

Dear Director Young:

On behalf of the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) and our 56 Governor-designated State and Territory Energy Office members we express our appreciation for your leadership in advancing supplemental appropriations to address the devastating impacts of hurricanes Helene and Milton on the Southeastern United States. Many of the State Energy Offices in the impacted region lead energy-related emergency planning, response, and mitigation efforts, along with their relevant state colleagues and the electricity and fuels industries.

As the Biden-Harris Administration and Congress consider supplemental appropriations to address these disasters, NASEO is particularly concerned about the ongoing limited supply of electric distribution transformers and the need to ensure we are prepared for future disasters which occur with increasing frequency. It is essential to support a robust, U.S.-based distribution transformer supply chain to address future natural disasters and physical attacks on the electric grid. We urge the Administration and Congress to provide supplemental funding for the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) distribution transformer activities, as well as support for state energy security activities conducted in partnership with DOE. This request is also consistent with the NASEO Bipartisan Energy Policy Recommendations — item 3c — which states, "Increase federal funding to support a robust distribution transformer supply chain and greater availability of transformers." These recommendations were put forward with the support of NASEO's 56 State and Territory members on November 1, 2024.

If you have any questions or we can be of assistance, please contact me by email at <a href="mailto:dterry@naseo.org">dterry@naseo.org</a>.

Best regards,

David Terry, President, NASEO

1300 North 17<sup>th</sup> Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

# **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### Chair

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

#### Vice Chair

MOLLY CRIPPS
Tennessee

# Treasurer

EDDY TREVINO

#### Secretary

WILL TOOR Colorado

### Member at Large

JULIE STAVELAND Michigan

#### **Past Chair**

ANDREW MCALLISTER California

### **Regional Representatives**

DAN BURGESS

KATIE DYKES Connecticut

NICK BURGER Washington, D.C.

NICK PRESERVATI West Virginia

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

KENYA STUMP Kentucky

JOE PATER
Wisconsin

EMILY WILBUR Missouri

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

RICHARD STOVER Idaho

MARIA EFFERTZ North Dakota

BEN BROUWER
Montana

REBECCA RESPICIO

# President

DAVID TERRY

# **General Counsel**

JEFFREY C. GENZER